About the Museum/Museum Hours/Who to Contact
The Munroe Falls Historical Museum collection is housed in a nineteenth century historic house at 83 Munroe Falls Avenue, Munroe Falls, Ohio. The museum contains local history memorabilia and a variety of exhibits that enable visitors to better visualize the growth of Munroe Falls from a river settlement in 1809 to city status in the twenty-first century.
The museum is open to the public every 3rd Sunday of the month from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m.
There is no admission charge.
Historical Museum Curators
Mike Daly and Joy Glasser
43 Munroe Falls Avenue
Munroe Falls, Ohio 44262
Munroe Falls Historical Museum Exhibits
Munroe Falls was once a farming community. A 1900s era parlor is furnished to display a farm family's "best room."
Visitors can view a 200 year old loom that has been restored to working condition. More than 600 string heddles were hand tied before the loom could be warped.
Munroe Falls 165th Anniversary Exhibit
The exhibit, "Munroe Falls: 1838-2003," made its debut October 2003 at Stow-Munroe Falls Public Library to commemorate the 165th anniversary of Munroe Falls.
The anniversary exhibit focuses on Munroe Falls, beginning with the community's "Agrarian Past," then moves forward to showcase the community's "Water-powered Industries." A canal display portrays Munroe Falls as 'A Canal Town" along the route of the Pennsylvania and Ohio Canal and another display focuses on "The Railroad" during a time when trains stopped in Munroe Falls to let passengers on and off the train.
Also featured in the anniversary exhibit are:
Turn of the Century Sewing Room.
An oak treadle sewing machine, called a drop-head machine because it had a sewing head that drops down out of view when closed, could be purchased by mail order from Montgomery Ward and Company and Sears Roebuck and Company "wish book." Other items on display are bolts of fabric, old sewing patterns, an old style ironing board, cast "sad irons" made by A. C. Williams in Ravenna, a woman's dress form, and a steamer trunk.
1940'S Wash Day Exhibit
Before washers were automatic, nearly an entire day was spent doing the family wash. Socks and badly soiled washing had to be soaked and sometimes boiled before being placed in soapy water in the electric washer to be agitated. To rinse the clothes, water was drawn into stationary tubs, and then clothes were fed through a hand wringer to get out all the water. Next the clothes were hung with wood clothespins outside to dry on a rope clothesline. Most of the next day was devoted to starching, sprinkling and ironing the clothes.
|< Prev||Next >|
|Building & Zoning|
|Forms & Info Sheets|
|Images and Video|
|Parks and Rentals|
|Trash & Recycling|
|Storm Water Management|